The White House

John Adams, the second President, was the first to live here, starting in 1800. The USCISide of the White House was completed during his term in office. The White House is the official residence for the President. It is located at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. in the capital city of Washington, D.C. The President lives here while in office. It was built between 1792 and 1800, and called the President's House or the President's Mansion. Today, it is the only residence of a country's leader that is open to the public at no cost.