The Colonies


People from many countries came to America. By 1733 there were 13 colonies in America. The 13 colonies were New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia. England made the laws for the 13 colonies. The King of England was the leader of the 13 colonies. The King wanted the people in the colonies to pay high taxes. The colonists were angry.

Choose the correct answer for the questions below:

1. Did people from many countries go to America?

Yes, they did.          No, they didn't.

2. Were there 10 colonies in America?

Yes, there were.          No, there weren't.

3. Was the King of England the leader of the 13 colonies?

Yes, he was.          No, he wasn't.

4. Did the King of England want the people to pay high taxes?

Yes, he did.          No, he didn't.

  1. How many colonies were there in America?

  2. What was the name of one of the colonies?
    New York

  3. Who was the leader of the 13 colonies?
    King of England
    King of Spain
    Abraham Lincoln

  4. Why were the colonists angry?
    They didn't like the King of France.
    They wanted more laws from England.
    The King of England wanted them to pay high taxes.